Ssh! HomelyGosling is Sleeping!

Okay, so, after two weeks of moving this thing around the house, measuring, sampling power usage, and trying to sleep through the noise, I’ve determined that it’s just not feasible at the moment to keep this thing running as a server.  Perhaps in the future I can find somewhere to put it where the noise won’t bother me and I’ll feel more confident about not burning down the house due to the shitty old wiring:

Old Wiring

Most of the house is wired with this stuff

Even the “newer” parts of the electrical are pretty old:

Old Electrical box

A "newer" wiring box

But nobody can afford the $15,000 needed to rewire the house.  So I’m just gonna hang onto my awesome new 65lb paperweight until I figure out a way to resolve the issues.

  1. #1 by Christa on January 4, 2010 - 7:34 PM

    So we all failed?

    • #2 by Joshua on January 5, 2010 - 7:12 AM

      Not at all. The machine is freaking awesome! I’m the fail here – I didn’t think things through entirely. I’m sure eventually I’ll figure something out.

  2. #3 by Echo35 on January 5, 2010 - 12:48 AM

    If you’re feeling adventurous (And by that I mean, feeling like opening the case), you could swap those fans out with some fluid bearing ones. Still not quiet, but quieter.

    • #4 by Joshua on January 5, 2010 - 9:16 AM

      That’s a good idea. But it still doesn’t help the power consumption end of things.

  3. #5 by Phillip on January 7, 2010 - 12:39 PM

    I have a really stupid question. What is the power coming into the house? And, for my own curiosity, is it a fuse box or circuit breaker where the feeds enter?

    • #6 by Joshua on January 7, 2010 - 12:53 PM

      100AMP 120VAC nominal service but it comes from a very old former industrial power grid. The phase-neutral is the center tap of a split-phase, three wire transformer. Since the grid is unbalanced (most of the neighborhood is on the same phase), the voltage fluctuates quite wildly (~86VAC to ~135VAC, averaging 108VAC), and consequently we have frequent problems with exploding lightbulbs (which I thought I wrote about before).

      The distribution point is currently a circuit breaker box but it replaced an earlier fuse box. There are two breaker panels, one for upper and one for lower but these replaced a single fuse panel – several circuits have outlets and fixtures in both the upper and lower units.

      • #7 by Joshua on January 7, 2010 - 1:00 PM

        Incidentally, street lighting for the alley behind the house uses two of the three 120VAC phases to make 240. Two sodium tubes have exploded in the 16 years we’ve been here.

      • #8 by Chadwick on January 7, 2010 - 3:20 PM

        You mentioned the exploding light bulbs in the comments here.

      • #9 by Phillip on January 10, 2010 - 2:47 AM

        Do you know if there’s a place where you can put it that’s fairly easy to make an entire new circuit? I think, but don’t quote me on this, that as long as you’re not adding onto an existing circuit you don’t have to change it. It’ be a helluva lot cheaper than 15k.

        • #10 by Joshua on January 10, 2010 - 9:37 AM

          I believe that’s an option. Running new romex in the walls, a new, modern wall box, a new 15A breaker, etc. I might want to go out for building an inline UPS and line filter… 🙂 Or maybe just spend the ~$20 at Home Depot for the new wiring, box, outlet, breaker, etc.

Leave a Reply

