Holy Crap, It’s the Future.

It’s beginning to dawn on me that it’s finally 2010. This is the year we should be sending Dr. Chandra to fix HAL 9000. We should be opening Stargate travel to the public with the help of the Aschen. Wikus van de Merwe should be evicting all the prawns from District 9, and in 5 years Doc Brown will be hovering above my head with the help of a Mr. Fusion. Prototypes will be out soon, I’m sure.

I now officially have a Bachelor’s of Arts in English with Commencement Honors from the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee. I don’t have winter break or summer break or anything break anymore, just paid time off of work. I’m an adult now. What am I going to do with it?

I don’t really know. I’ve been given advice to take it slow, to not rush into redefining myself now that I’ve lost the “university student” definition. I think there’s wisdom in that. To that end, I plan to:

  1. Clean my apartment real good. Gift/Donate/Resell/Throw out all the stuff I’ll never use again and make room for whatever’s next.
  2. Get more shelving units and possibly a new desk and chair for holding the computer. Aka “Make homes for the stuff I’m going to keep.”
  3. Finish the cake that’s sitting on my kitchen table.

Suggestions? Ideas from fellow graduates? How did you handle the transition out of school?

  1. #1 by Andrew D. on January 4, 2010 - 4:39 PM

  2. #2 by Joshua on January 4, 2010 - 5:33 PM

    Suggestions? Ideas from fellow graduates? How did you handle the transition out of school?

    LOL. I never did. Even when I was working, I popped by school every chance I got. That might be different depending on where everyone on here goes in the future but in general, I don’t think I’ve changed all that much.

  3. #3 by Matt on January 8, 2010 - 5:23 PM

    1) Get a job that pays well, AND CLING TO IT LIKE NO OTHER (x)
    2) Start upgrading current possessions to something more befitting to a professional adult. Such as a bigger bed, newer auto, and nicer, non collegiate furniture. (work in progress)
    3) Try to set your schedule so you have a four day work week.
    4) Get a masters. You graduated with honors, sure. Now really polish that ego with an MA.
    5) NEVER GROW UP. (work in progress)

  1. Mariah Carey – O Holy Night | Holy lands tours - holyland

Leave a Reply

