HomelyGosling – not so homely anymore

HomelyGosling wearing her new purple bezel

HomelyGosling wearing her new purple bezel

And I’ve found a home for it. It’s cool year-round and the noise won’t bother me.

I’ve got AC Power x2 on a dedicated 15A circuit and 100baseTX Ethernet x2. All that’s missing is the serial console cable.

My Christmas Presents

My Christmas Presents

The Hot Zombie Girlfriend now sits next to the Cubes IT dept. that Chad got me last year.

Bare Metal

Bare Metal

Strange Hieroglyphics

Strange Hieroglyphics

Baring It All

Baring It All

2x Hot-Swap SCSI

2x Hot-Swap SCSI

Since these machines were designed to be high-volume transactional engines, storage was not a priority. Hence, only two hot-swap HDD slots.

SPUD Brackets make hot-swapping hard drives a breeze

SPUD Brackets make hot-swapping hard drives a breeze

Purple Bezel in Place

Purple Bezel in Place

It’s still missing the dark gray bezel that goes around the DVD-ROM drive but I have no clue where to find one of those. And, yes, it’s missing the green POWER-ON LED from the right-hand side. And the rackmount brackets are bent to hell but I don’t intend to use them anyway. 🙂

UPDATE: It’s not really missing the power-on LED – it’s just pushed out of its mounting and wayyy far into the chassis. If I ever open the top panel, I’ll fish it out. For now, I’ll leave it.

IT’S ALIVE!!! And it sounds hungry. No kidding – the volume of air this thing moves is incredible. I powered it up and papers and crap went flying all around my room. Thankfully, it can live in the closet where the noise won’t bother me. Here’s the first communications from HomelyGosling:

A TIP session from my Sun Ultra60 to the console port on the E420R

A TIP session from my Sun Ultra60 to the console port on the E420R

It can’t open the boot device because there’s no OS on the hard drives and I haven’t burned the Solaris 10 install CDs yet. It turns out that I have to use an older version of Solaris 10 because the latest one only comes on DVD and neither of my two Sun machines has a DVD drive. 😦

Installing Solaris 10

Installing Solaris 10

  1. #1 by Chadwick on December 30, 2009 - 11:03 AM

    Cool. Glad you found a spot for her. And she looks much prettier with the bezel.

  2. #2 by Joshua on December 31, 2009 - 7:36 AM

    Lol. Okay – the noise bothers me. Even in the closet with the door closed, it’s just crazy loud. I was thinking of possibly getting some angle brackets and mounting it hanging from the floorboards in the basement. But that would require cutting holes in the floor and stuff. Cutting holes in a 1927 hardwood floor isn’t exactly the best idea.

    • #3 by Chadwick on December 31, 2009 - 8:22 AM

      I’ve heard worse ideas. The goal would be to minimize the damage in a fairly hidden location. Unless you’d rather put the holes in the wall and start trying to drop lines from there.

      • #4 by Joshua on December 31, 2009 - 10:29 AM

        Putting holes in walls isn’t an option – they’re solid concrete. None of the wiring (except for the original 1927 electrical) runs inside the walls. Even the phone (which was added in 1952) runs along the baseboard and down through the floor.

        • #5 by Chadwick on December 31, 2009 - 12:01 PM

          Any of that work you can take advantage of?

          • #6 by Joshua on December 31, 2009 - 12:34 PM

            The existing cabling runs parallel to the heating ducts, which are the only holes in the wall that aren’t occupied by power cabling. Since I have a 100ft. CAT-5e cable, I could, in theory, mount it anywhere it would be out of the way and just run the cable up next to the heating duct like all the rest.

          • #7 by Chadwick on December 31, 2009 - 1:21 PM

            Want to try?

  1. HomelyGosling – not so homely anymore - Technology & Science

Leave a Reply

