Things I notice

So the power has gone out here (house-wide at the least, possibly neighborhood-wide) three times in the last twenty minutes.  So I’m in Linux now because I didn’t care enough to make the system go to Windows–and more importantly, I’m not about to play video games with the power going out every couple minutes.

Anyway, random observation:  In Linux, everything is so much crisper and clearer.  The contrast ratios are better, and the edges on everything are so much cleaner, the blacks are darker, the whites stay whiter, and all my socks are static-free.

UPDATE: In total, the power went out 6 times in 30 minutes.  It seems to have stopped for the moment, since it’s been 55 minutes since the last outage.

  1. #1 by Joshua on December 25, 2009 - 1:00 PM

    The fonts I can explain: X11 has awesome antialiasing built-in but also Gnome and KDE both implement antialiasing that’s far superior to Windows ClearType. As for contrast ratios, I dunno. Maybe it’s a different resolution? I know my monitors (LCD panels) hate displaying any resolution other than their native.

    • #2 by Chadwick on December 25, 2009 - 7:38 PM

      Not just the fonts, either. The graphics are so much clearer too. It’s like being in HD. I really noticed it when I stumbled on Cyanide & Happiness, and everything looked so much nicer; that’s when I started looking closlier at things.

      • #3 by Phillip on December 26, 2009 - 12:36 AM

        Closlier?

  2. #5 by Joshua on December 25, 2009 - 1:14 PM

    The power went out here, too. But only because the circuit breaker tripped due to the terrible wiring in the house.

  3. #6 by Christa on January 8, 2010 - 10:08 PM

    It does all look different.

Leave a Reply

