Name my new server

Even though it’s still at Chad’s house, I need help naming my new Sun Enterprise 420R server.   This is what one looks like:

Sun Enterprise 420R

Sun Enterprise 420R

Front View

Front View

Except mine is missing the purple and gray faceplates.  My other Sun box (my Ultra60) is named UglyDuckling.  My 4U Linux server is named dustpuppy.  So any name works for me.  Winner gets a coffee on me.

UPDATE:  After Reading the Fine Manual, I found that these machines don’t normally ship with a video card so I won’t order one.  The normal way of installing an OS on one of these is via serial console.  Since I don’t have a Sun ASCII Terminal I can connect, I’ll be using a tip connection from my Ultra60.  But to do that, I’ll need a Serial Null Modem Cable.  They’re $0.99 at Amazon.  So I’d be happy to purchase the Sun E420R Faceplate that Chad found on Ebay.  Except I still don’t have an Ebay or PayPal account.

  1. #1 by Chadwick on December 22, 2009 - 8:55 AM

    ScarFace (because it’s missing the plate, see?)

    HomelyGosling (because it’s a Sun, like your other one, and a Gosling is bigger than a Duckling. You could also go with UglyGosling, but I wouldn’t want two things to start with the same four letters, personally)

    I was going to throw in a third, but I really like HomelyGosling.

    • #2 by Joshua on December 22, 2009 - 9:11 AM

      HomelyGosling sounds perfect. Unless I hear something earth-shatteringly brilliant in the near future, I think we have a winner. Thanks, Chad!

    • #3 by Joshua on December 22, 2009 - 9:14 AM

      Sun has a history of naming their hardware strange things. One of the most common 10/100 Ethernet chips in Sun’s Ultra and Enterprise machines is called “HappyMeal.” The interface names of those cards start with hme (e.g. hme0 and hme1 in my Ultra60). I always found it interesting, myself. The Linux Kernel devs have some rather unkind things to say about the way Sun implements their HappyMeal Ethernet systems but I’ve never had a problem with them myself. Then again, I’ve always run Solaris on Sun machines so I wouldn’t know.

  2. #4 by Joshua on December 22, 2009 - 10:25 AM

    Oh, and in case you were thinking of dropping off the machine today (or having me come to school and get it), I’m going shopping this morning and I need to be home from 2:00 until 3:00 this afternoon to watch a Penguin. Otherwise, I’m free.

  3. #5 by Joshua on December 22, 2009 - 11:21 AM

    UPDATE: I signed up for eBay just to buy the $30 purple front bezel for the server from Sun Valley Compucycle. I’ve heard of them before and I expect the part to be in the same pristine condition it appears in the eBay pic. That way, the server will look as awesome as it performs. It’ll still be missing the gray bezel that goes around the DVD-ROM drive and keylock but that’s minor – it doesn’t have the shiny Sun logo on it. 🙂

  4. #7 by Joshua on December 22, 2009 - 12:00 PM

    I think I figured out a way to power all the new equipment – there’s an unused outlet on my west wall that’s connected to the circuit for the other bedroom, which is mostly unused. I could probably connect a UPS to it and run a power squid over to the east wall where the equipment rack is.

    Also, I’ve been trying to identify the computation-intensive tasks that the Linux server is doing so I can figure out how to offload them to the new Sun server. So far, I’ve got database and application services on the list to be moved. E-mail routing / spam filtering and mailbox storage could be moved or could stay on the Linux box. Spamfiltering is the #1 most CPU intensive task on the Linux server right now so I think that it would be a good candidate for moving to the Sun server. I think web serving (PHP) should stay on the Linux box. NAS would definitely stay on the Linux box because that’s where the biggest disks are (I can’t afford eight 160GB UltraSCSI disks).

    • #8 by Joshua on December 22, 2009 - 12:09 PM

      I’ve decided I’m definitely moving mail routing and spam filtering over to the new Sun system and keeping the user mailboxes on the existing Linux box. And I’m going to use procmail on the Sun system to implement the forwarding. Mainly because I can fine-tune the qualifications right there on the Sun box so the procmail on the Linux box doesn’t have as much processing to do leading up to the final postdrop.

  5. #9 by Joshua on December 22, 2009 - 1:45 PM

    Chad just dropped off my new server. It’s pretty awesome! I was going through the owner’s manual making sure that everything that’s supposed to be present is actually present. And aside from the aforementioned purple and gray front bezels and the green power-on LED, everything’s right where it should be. The corners are a bit dented and as a result the front doors are a pain to open but they do indeed open! Both 320W power supplies are present and accounted for, as are both hard drives. I’ve got the purple bezel on order but I have yet to find the gray one for sale anywhere. I may have to improvise something.

  6. #10 by Andrew D. on December 22, 2009 - 4:31 PM

    I like the “Happy Everyone!” you announced upon opening the envelope. That could totally be the name for a server.

    However “UglyGosling” works too. 🙂

  7. #11 by Matt on December 22, 2009 - 5:26 PM

    RedDwarf?

    • #12 by Joshua on December 22, 2009 - 5:33 PM

      Well, I’d already considered the usual options: It’d be hastur if we were going with UserFriendly, Maurice if we were going with a Madagascar naming scheme, etc. But I think Chad has it sewn up with HomelyGosling.

Leave a Reply

