The Holiday Season approaches (UPDATED: Bumped for Black Friday)

I can tell, because everyone keeps asking me what I want for Christmas.  Everyone always does this, and that’s great and all, but there’s some problems with the idea.  Specifically, I never remember anything when I’m asked about it.  I think of plenty of stuff in the meantime, but never when someone’s around.  Then I remembered that I have a blog.

Now, this isn’t an entirely novel idea, I’ll admit, but I’m going to take this space to store a listing of all my desired items for the holidays, and expand on it as more come to mind.  I’ll keep my list below the fold, but I’m going to ask all of you to join in with me.  Let’s face it; we all have fairly positive opinions of each other on the average, and may want to purchase gifts.

So leave your lists in the comments below if you’ve got them (or feel free to link to Amazon Wish Lists or whatever).  Oh, and if you decide to gift someone, you might want to make a note so people know to check with you. And that means, if you’re buying for someone, you may want to check with anyone else who’s buying for them.

Chadwick’s Suggested Gift List

Okay, first off, my Amazon Wish List, which contains a few suggestions.  There’s lots that didn’t make it on there, but I don’t feel motivated enough right now to track down anything and everything of interest.

Also, anything and everything Jonathan Coulton.

(Added Nov. 21)  Rugged Tool Bag.  I’m not even sure what I’d do with it, but it’s really cool and on sale.

(Added Nov. 26)  A good way to brew coffee that’s not my 34 oz French Press.  The press works well for 2 people, but when I just want coffee for myself, it seems a bit much.  I don’t much care what this other brewing method is, whether it’s a smaller french press (Bodum if at all possible, if you do this), a coffee maker, whatever (and those links are simply suggestions, I’m not that picky).  Unless Josh wants to make suggestions.

(Added Nov. 26)  And for those who want to just gift via Steam (or not, if you want to hunt IRL), in no particular order:

Actually, if you’re feeling generous, both LOOM and The Dig ($5 each) come in the LucasArts Adventure Pack with two Indiana Jones games (which I’m vaguely interested in, but not enough to request) for the price of $10.  So you can throw in two Indiana Jones adventure games for 1¢ extra.

(Added Nov. 30) Leaves of Grass, Walt Whitman.

More to be added as it comes to me.  Or not, as I forget it before returning to a computer.

,

  1. #1 by VisualHierarchy on November 14, 2009 - 12:58 PM

    come on its been 5 days since you posted this, you should have at least a few things up!

    • #2 by Chadwick on November 18, 2009 - 11:48 AM

      Quiet, you. *update*

  2. #3 by Joshua on November 17, 2009 - 2:55 PM

    My suggested gift list:

    1 set of light gauge Stick strings (Classic 6+6, melody and bass)

    Sheet music for Cast Your Fate to the Wind by Vince Guaraldi

    Josh’s updates:

    November 20th
    (11:20) Also, cheap guitar strings. Two sets of six-string acoustic (any metal) and one set of twelve-string acoustic. One set of six-string nylon. One set of steel strings for six-string electric.

    (11:41) And beer for my cellar. Anything that’s >8% ABV will age acceptably. I like trying strange brews so go nuts. 🙂

    (13:56) And Weasel Puke Coffee

    (15:54) Monty Python Fluxx

    November 21st

    (08:39) Possibly Ferrero candies and / or Lindor Truffles

    (09:55) $25 Masonic Signet Ring

    (09:57) Masonic Cufflinks

    November 22nd
    (13:45) WoW: WotLK

    • #4 by Joshua on November 19, 2009 - 5:46 PM

      Chad was asking about the Stick Strings. Here’s the pricing info for my set:

      12-string SG-12 light gauge $36

      Here’s the site to find them: Stick Enterprises. Note: I don’t actually expect anyone to buy me strings – they’re just here because they’re really the only things I need other than a job.

    • #5 by Chadwick on November 20, 2009 - 5:10 PM

      Hope you don’t mind that I consolidated your list.

    • #7 by Joshua on November 24, 2009 - 7:45 AM

      A working flashlight. (My last one broke when I dropped it. 😦 )

      • #8 by Chadwick on December 1, 2009 - 1:18 PM

        What size/type of flashlight do you use?

        • #9 by Joshua on December 1, 2009 - 1:40 PM

          Really any size/type as long as it makes light and doesn’t require being plugged into the wall. 🙂

      • #10 by Chadwick on December 1, 2009 - 3:51 PM

        But for best convenience, there’s a difference between a 3-inch-long plastic flashlight and a 4-foot maglite.

        • #11 by Joshua on December 1, 2009 - 4:11 PM

          In this case, the three inch plastic flashlight would be the right answer.

          • #12 by Chadwick on December 1, 2009 - 4:18 PM

            Lol. K.

    • #13 by Joshua on November 27, 2009 - 9:24 AM

      Strike the WoW: WotLK. 🙂

      • #14 by Chadwick on November 27, 2009 - 9:43 AM

        Oh dear, have you gone and supplied yourself?

        • #15 by Joshua on November 27, 2009 - 9:49 AM

          I have, indeed. However, the box is unopened and I still have the receipt so a return is quite possible should that become necessary.

          • #16 by Chadwick on November 27, 2009 - 10:02 AM

            Lol, ‘k.

    • #17 by Joshua on November 30, 2009 - 1:23 PM

      A 50g tin (or sampler pack) of any of McClelland’s pipe tobaccos, preferably Frog Morton.

      • #18 by Joshua on November 30, 2009 - 1:31 PM

        Or Frog Morton On The Town. More mellow, almost sweet vanilla-ish.

      • #19 by Chadwick on November 30, 2009 - 2:53 PM

        Aren’t you not supposed to be smoking anymore?

        • #20 by Joshua on November 30, 2009 - 2:59 PM

          Da. Am not supposed to be smokink a pipe anymore. But I miss Frog Morton. For my own sake, I hope nobody gets me any or I may be forced to smoke it. I’m safe for myself since I’m too poor to be going around buying tobacco. But having it on the shelf is a different story entirely.

        • #21 by Joshua on November 30, 2009 - 3:06 PM

          The Chad is right. Don’t get me any tobacco – I’m really not supposed to smoke. So ignore this one, please. 🙂

          • #22 by Joshua on November 30, 2009 - 6:01 PM

            Though one bowl probably wouldn’t kill me – it’s the addictive nature of tobacco that makes it dangerous – one bowl may turn into one a week, and then one a day, and then I know it, I’m a hopeless lifelong smoker. And I want to avoid that at all costs.

          • #23 by Chadwick on November 30, 2009 - 6:59 PM

            I guess I never thought of that for pipes. You had dependency issues with it previously?

          • #24 by Joshua on November 30, 2009 - 7:02 PM

            Not me personally, but Dan did – it led him to becoming a full pack-a-day cigarette smoker. And my mom smokes. And after I spent that $136 on beer, I’m worried about my mental health – I don’t need another thing to add to those problems.

          • #25 by Joshua on November 30, 2009 - 7:03 PM

            You are correct, however. It’s not easy to form an addiction from smoking a pipe. Generally you don’t get as much nicotine from a pipe as you do from a cigarette. And certainly it doesn’t get into the bloodstream as rapidly since you don’t inhale a pipe.

    • #26 by Joshua on December 2, 2009 - 2:35 PM

      Sheet music (piano arrangements preferred) for some of my favorite hymn tunes (main ones are in bold):

      • Valet Will Ich Dir Geben (Melchior Teschner)
      • Morgenleid (Frederick C. Maker)
      • Judas Maccabaeus (George F. Handel)
      • Hyfrydol (Rowland H. Prichard)
      • Diademata (George J. Elvey)
      • Aurelia (Samuel S. Wesley)
      • A Va De (Billema Kwillia)
      • The Ash Grove (Welsh Folk Tune)
      • Ein Feste Burg (Martin Luther)
      • Old Hundredth (Louis Burgeois)
      • Klarer und Lichter Morgenstern (Gesangbuch der Herzogl)
      • Ellers (Edward J. Hopkins)
      • Melita (John B. Dykes)
      • Battle Hymn (American Folk Tune)
      • Duke Street (John Hatton)
      • Crucifer (Sydney H. Nicholson)
      • Festal Song (William H. Walter)
      • Hankey (William G. Fischer)
      • Angelic Songs (James Walch)
      • St. Anne (?)
      • St. Gertrude (Arthur S. Sullivan)
      • O Store Gud (Swedish Folk Tune)
      • Azmon (Carl G. Gläser)
      • Londondery Air

      Most of these tunes have popular names (like Londondery Air is usually known as Danny Boy). If you’d like, I could list off the most popular titles that these tunes use.

      • #27 by Joshua on December 2, 2009 - 2:37 PM

        Italic works too. I seem to have confused <em> with <strong>

    • #28 by Joshua on December 5, 2009 - 11:36 AM

      A non-broken executive desk chair. Mine’s missing an armrest and the hydraulic cylinder is shot.

  3. #29 by Christa on November 18, 2009 - 2:17 PM

    I have bought something for Chad off of his amazon wishlist, so please ask me before you buy as I bought these items back in June, so they are mine bitches.

    • #30 by Christa on November 18, 2009 - 9:17 PM

      • #31 by Chadwick on November 19, 2009 - 10:37 AM

        I didn’t know you read Terry Brooks.

        • #32 by Christa on November 19, 2009 - 8:40 PM

          That one turned up on a list of good books, and I liked the sound of it. I haven’t read him before.

        • #33 by Joshua on November 21, 2009 - 5:37 PM

          (Comment hidden by Administrator)

          • #34 by Chadwick on November 22, 2009 - 2:00 PM

            Well if you’d like, you can just declare that you’re getting Christa an anonymous item from her list, and then we can ask you if we’re also getting her something from her list.

          • #35 by Joshua on November 22, 2009 - 2:05 PM

            Oh okies. Incas you couldn’t tell, I’m not very good at the whole “surprises” thing.

          • #36 by Chadwick on November 22, 2009 - 2:54 PM

            Incas, huh? What’ve you got against the Incas?

          • #37 by Joshua on November 22, 2009 - 2:59 PM

          • #38 by Joshua on November 22, 2009 - 5:01 PM

            Thankee the Chad for the fixing of the Link!

  4. #39 by Joshua on November 22, 2009 - 5:10 PM

    You people and your book lists! I just got back from the least successful Christmas shopping trip ever. First, I went to half-price books. I found exactly zero of the books on either Chad or Christa’s lists. I did find lots of books by those authors, just not the actual titles requested. From there I went to Discount Liquor to see about holiday liquor specials as advertised in the newspaper. I found that Discount Liquor is only open from 10 AM until 2 PM on Sundays. Which sucks. So after spending 2 hours driving around the city this afternoon, I still have the same one book for Christa that I got off my shelf. So much for Christmas shopping…

    • #40 by Chadwick on November 22, 2009 - 5:44 PM

      Well I appreciate the effort. And Christa’s always difficult.

      • #41 by Christa on November 22, 2009 - 9:48 PM

        Oh, please. You’re the difficult one.

  5. #43 by Joshua on November 30, 2009 - 6:00 PM

    We are doing a Chadowrun on Thursday, right? I’m still to bring the Stollen and frosting?

    • #44 by Chadwick on November 30, 2009 - 6:32 PM

      Unless something changes, yeah we’re on for Thursday.

  6. #45 by Phillip on December 1, 2009 - 9:31 PM

    Just a quick question. When is everything going to be traded so I know when I need to get stuff by?

  7. #47 by Chadwick on December 2, 2009 - 7:48 AM

Leave a Reply

