Red Hat, meet Red Hat

All this time, being a Sun fanboi, I’ve been developing my J2EE apps in NetBeans, for GlassFish v2 Application Server.  I did this on my Sun Solaris workstation and they always tested great.  Deploying them to the actual GlassFish server on Red Hat EL 5 didn’t work, tho.  I thought about migrating the server from Linux to Solaris for GlassFish but then I looked at the LAMP vs SAMP stack on x86 32-bit single-CPU systems and saw that Solaris just crawls on non-x64 uniproc machines.  Had I a nice SPARC server, I could just deploy CoolThreads stack and it would scream away.  But I can’t afford a SPARC server.

Anyway, I decided to solve this by complementing the Red Hat Linux OS with the Red Hat JBoss Application Server:

The JBoss Administration Console accessed from my Red Hat workstation

The JBoss Administration Console accessed from my Red Hat workstation

JBoss was a breeze to install on Linux (unlike GlassFish), and after reading the manual, was equally easy to configure and integrate into the system services manager.  I’ll let you know how the development and deployment effort goes once I get Eclipse installed on my workstation.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

