Souvenir Potpourri: Or the day I cleaned out my jacket pockets

The stuff I'm going to send Alex

Once in a while, Alex over at TheDailyWTF, does a segment called Souvenir Potpourri wherein he showcases all the random stuff people send him in exchange for WTF stickers.  This is what I’m sending him.

Creepy potted meat

It’s really just potted meat with dumb labels.  But my uncle sent it to me from Mississippi.

A menu for Noodles & Company

That way, if he’s ever in Milwaukee, he can get some kick-ass noodles!

Two Amtrak ticket stubs

Before the economy went to crap, I used to ride the Amtrak Hiawatha to Chicago every few months just to go shopping and have awesome Chicago food.

Sun Project Blackbox card

Sun came to the UW-Milwaukee School of Business Administration in 2007 and brought one of their  Project Blackbox prototypes.

A CTA reusable payment card

To get around Chicago, you buy these payment cards at transit kiosks.  You can refill them all day and they’re good for CTA buses and trains.  They’re not good for Amtrak or Metra trains.

A Shades of Green keycard

Shades of Green is a resort at Walt Disney World for military personnel and their families.  This is a keycard from our stay in June of 2008.

A punch card for an espresso shop

This half-punched card is from Fair Grounds Espresso which was only open for about 6 months in 2001.

Sprecher Beer Sample Tickets

When you take the Sprecher Brewery Tour, they give you four of these free sample tickets.  At Hunter where I used to work (across the street from Sprecher Brewery), we used to take the tour weekly and all the soda drinkers would give their beer sample tickets away.  We accumulated massive piles of these and just kept refilling our sample glasses well into the evening :P

Free Latte at Stone Creek Coffee

That chick that may or may not have been flirting with me gave it to me.

Expired? Bravo gift cards

Bravo! is an Italian Restaurant in Bayshore Town Center.  I’ve got stacks of these, too.  They claim to be expired but Bravo is likely to honor them anyway.

Smiley face token

A wooden smiley face token from West Allis Charities.

A Lint Brush

A Lint brush from the slaughterhouse where I used to work.  It was bought by Cargill Food Solutions.

Alterra free drink punch card

Alterra Coffee Roasters has the best coffee in Milwaukee.  Here’s a half-punched drink card.

My LOPSA membership card

I’ve been a member of LOPSA for a year now.  But I have to let my membership lapse because I no longer have a sponsor because I’m unemployed.

2007 Sensual Daydreams pocket schedule

Sensual Daydreams is Milwaukee’s Rocky Horror Picture Show live cast.  Midnight showings of Rocky Horror at the Oriental Theater is a Milwaukee treat.

Alterra Gift Card

An Alterra gift card with like 10 cents left on it.

Not pictured:  a U.S. two-dollar bill, a ticket stub from a They Might Be Giants concert at the Turner’s Hall, a ticket stub from an Admirals hockey game, and a UW-Milwaukee Print/Copy card with $1.00 on it.

, , ,

  1. #1 by Chadwick on September 8, 2009 - 8:00 PM

    Josh, good pictures look like this. You should ask Christa for non-flashy camera lessons.

  2. #2 by Chadwick on November 26, 2009 - 1:50 PM

    Sorry, couldn’t recover the first page’s 12 comments. I believe you commented a correction to your lint brush to indicate that the company, rather than your lintbrush, had been purchased by Cargill.

    • #3 by Joshua on November 26, 2009 - 2:13 PM

      S’totally okay. You just justified the extremely expensive gift I got you that (a) I wouldn’t have gotten had I seen the price prior to actually paying for it and (b) for which my mom subsequently threw a shit fit.

      Thankee exceedingly much for finding this post. :)

      • #4 by Chadwick on November 26, 2009 - 2:14 PM

        Lol. Well I hope you didn’t get into too much trouble.

        • #5 by Joshua on November 26, 2009 - 2:17 PM

          Not really all that much – I’m just not allowed to buy alcohol again without someone else there to monitor my spending.

  3. #6 by Joshua on February 13, 2010 - 4:16 PM

    Out of curiosity, Chad, did you ever drink that bottle of Chimay Grande Reserve? There’s no rush since it can age for up to 5 years if stored in a wine cellar (55 F year round / low moisture / no light / etc.), but I was wondering how you liked it.

    • #7 by Chadwick on February 13, 2010 - 9:19 PM

      I haven’t really found the right time yet. It’s stored on the floor in a basement in a dark corner (upright, I believe you said they should be). Right near my wines.

      • #8 by Joshua on February 14, 2010 - 8:45 AM

        Ah. Rock on, then!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 48 other followers

