Beer Recommendation: Samuel Smith’s Imperial Stout

Samuel Smith's Imperial Stout

Identifying the miscellaneous debris in the photo:  Case for my Leatherman which I used to open the bottle.  My /dev/mug currently containing a phone.  The #include <beer.h> glass containing one pint of Imperial Stout.  The bottle containing the remaining Imperial Stout.  Retail boxes for World Of Warcraft:  The Burning Crusade, World of Warcraft, and Windows Vista Home Basic (I’m just holding it for a friend, honest!  It doesn’t even run on any of my machines anyway.)  A stack of Half-Life CDs.  A box of tissues (get your minds out of the gutter – I may be a lonely loser dude in his mid-20s but the tissues are used for my terrible seasonal allergies.)

Dark, Stout-y.  Significant fruity aftertaste and acidic tones – very alcoholic nose.  It’s what you’d expect from a very strong dark ale.

HUGE macrofoam head.  Not much lacing.  Very pleasant Imperial Stout without the heavy “burnt” flavors one may expect from such a dark ale.

<UPDATE>

Okay.  Wow.  Let me start over here.

This dark, rich, smooth ale pours a solid black out of the bottle, creates an enormous macrofoam head that sticks around for a good long time but doesn’t leave any lacing save a ring ofdark tan around the outside of the glass.  The aroma is that of an Imperial Stout – fruity tones, dark coffee, very strong alcohol nose.  The head is pleasant and creamy with strong acidic notes of apples.  The texture is thick and solid with a solidly acidic cider-like quality.  It leaves a bitter, dark coffee aftertaste.  What’s absent from this Imperial Stout is the “burnt toast” flavor that other Stouts tend to have.  All around, a solid very strong English dark ale.

  1. #1 by Joshua on May 11, 2009 - 12:57 PM

    I;m waiting thill I’m (a) not playing Team Fortress and (b) not completely drumkl. This English Beer is a hell of a lot more alcoholic than American beer. It’s maybe even more alcoholic than the German beer I trink at Oktobertsft! So I’ll wait until I can form a sentence without sluppting. Then I[’ll finish mt recommendation,.

    • #2 by Chadwick on May 11, 2009 - 2:14 PM

      Don’t you know you’re not supposed to be drunk at this hour?

      • #3 by Joshua on June 12, 2009 - 8:06 AM

        What’s interesting is that I used the German word for drink (trinken). That or I just mistyped it horribly.

  2. #4 by Joshua on May 11, 2009 - 2:26 PM

    Hthe hell?? THe themes is all different. I didn’t intend to be drunk at this hour. This beer bkicked my ass! I’ve evebn rigdden my nbile arond the bok acouple of times and it hadns;t helped. I think ,ybe I’ll drunk some water and read a book aor aomwthing. I need to ger undrunk!! I apoloze for being all crazy and stuff. Beer doesn’t suautlly make me all loopy.!

  3. #5 by Joshua on May 12, 2009 - 9:01 AM

    Hey Chad, how do I bump this from the date of update? (i.e. today?) Thanks!

    • #6 by Chadwick on May 12, 2009 - 10:56 AM

      Hmm…I know I can move it. Not sure if you can. When you go in to edit, does it have a “Published On…” option that you can edit just above the “Update Post” button in the editor?

  4. #7 by Joshua on July 9, 2009 - 8:32 AM

    Yeah. I occasionally do enjoy a beer with lunch at home but I’ve NEVER gotten drunk off of a lunchtime beer before. This crap was massively alcoholic. It was EXCELLENT beer but wayy too high in alcohol to have with lunch again.

Leave a Reply

