“This is Unix! I know this!”

For anyone who’s ever seen Jurassic Park, that really was Unix.  Specifically, SGI’s version called Irix.  Here’s a screenie of the official package running on an actual SGI machine:

FSN - the IRIX 3D file system tool from Jurassic Park

FSN - the IRIX 3D file system tool from Jurassic Park

Thankfully, some very awesome geeks decided that SGI owners shouldn’t have all the fun.  They made a Linux version.  Here are some screenies of it running on my Fedora 10 install under MaXX Desktop DR2:

just my MaXX DR2 desktop

just my MaXX DR2 desktop

my home directory in FSV

my home directory in FSV

properties dialog

properties dialog

looking at my "Download" directory

looking at my "Download" directory

The contents of my "Download" directory

The contents of my "Download" directory

The tarball for the MaXX Destop DR2

The tarball for the MaXX Destop DR2

This is also a VERY cool way to browse through large source code collections:

The x86 branch of the Linux kernel

The x86 branch of the Linux kernel

Some headers for the assembly-code portions

Some headers for the assembly-code portions

The most important code in the Kernel for x86 machines

The most important code in the Kernel for x86 machines

  1. #1 by Chadwick on April 23, 2009 - 1:25 PM

    And that’s how you know Jurassic Park was fiction. Real girls don’t know Unix.

    • #2 by Phillip on April 23, 2009 - 4:13 PM

      Well, don’t we actually have the makings for a real Jurassic Park? I remember hearing that they did find DNA of something, and we’ve cloned things before. Sure, there’d be a couple technical things to overcome.

      But yes, that was the first thing I thought when Josh mentioned that it was Unix. Young girls have no idea what Unix is.

      Did anyone else think that some of those things looked like a metropolis?

Leave a Reply

