Non-flashy pictures

A while back, Chad told me I needed to learn to take non-flashy pictures.  I think I did that:

Lighting controller board with logic circuits dummied out

Lighting controller board with logic circuits dummied out

  1. #1 by Phillip on April 22, 2012 - 12:52 PM

    That’s not too shabby. From using a D-SLR myself, and not wanting to use flash, it’s sometimes hard to grab a decent pic. Looking at it, I’d bet that you had your F-stop pretty close to wide open with ISO turned up and possibly anti-blur turned on. What I would personally do is maybe have some offset lighting so you can keep the exposure time about the same, but decrease the ISO. Just out of curiosity, what’re the specs for the lenses that you’re using? Overall though, it’s not bad.

  2. #2 by Joshua on April 22, 2012 - 5:27 PM

    Thanks. My first attempt at decent photography. ISO was 1600, f-stop was ƒ/5.6, image stabilizer in-lens, manual focus, auto-shutter. Camera was a Canon Rebel T3, lens was 18-55mm zoom. This pic specifically was zoomed in pretty far (I deleted the raw data file once I generated a JPEG from it so I lost the exact equivalent focal length data).

    Your assessment is spot on and I’m wondering how you can tell that – I’m not yet that good where I can recognize that.

    • #3 by Phillip on April 22, 2012 - 6:26 PM

      The ISO, and while cameras have gotten quite a bit better, shows in noise. As an example, if you look at the PATA-ish looking connector, you’ll see pixels that aren’t the same color. The IS shows in the HD_LED on board connector where it’s slightly blurry. And the f-stop was from the shallow depth of field, if you look at the, I’m going to assume transistors, how they’re blurry as it goes out from where you’re focused. But the stop could have something to do with the zoom too.

      All told, I don’t think anyone would really notice it if you printed it; I had to look at the full image to see those things. Keep it up though, you’ll get it to where you can visualize what you want then tell it what to do.

  3. #5 by Joshua on April 22, 2012 - 5:30 PM

    What got me into DSLR photography was inheriting a package of Canon FD-mount lenses (including a super-sweet 75-300mm zoom lens) and an early 70s SLR camera body. Since no camera on the market can use FD mount lenses anymore, I got the closest entry-level equivalent camera and ordered an adapter kit. Since the new EF mount lenses use electronic auto focus (hence the name – ElectroFocus) instead of manual, I’ll only be able to use the older lenses in manual focus mode, but that’s fine by me.

    • #6 by Joshua on April 22, 2012 - 5:32 PM

      Oh and the adaptor has glass so I can focus at infinity with the older lenses at the expense of the 35mm->50mm vignette effect.

      • #7 by Joshua on April 22, 2012 - 5:34 PM

        But the EOS 1100D firmware has a 35mm sensor layout override so I don’t have to sacrifice resolution when using the old lenses – just capture angle.

    • #8 by Phillip on April 22, 2012 - 6:43 PM

      I’ve found with some auto focus lenses that they don’t quite focus on what I want. If I want this one specific thing focused it’ll ignore it and vice versa. Most of my pictures I manually focus, which is kind of PITA with mine because it’ll sometimes lag, kind of like it’s waiting to hear from the body if it’s okay to do it.

      And only a 4x zoom? :p
      One of my uncles is a, well, he likes to think he knows it all. Whenever he gets a camera he’ll say something about the zoom. This past Christmas he had one with a 6x, but as it turns out I think it was 12mm-72mm or something like that. And my mom got one that was 12x from 24-288. He could not comprehend that the one my mom had could zoom in more than double what his could, so I hate it when people just go by the zoom instead of the ranges.

      I’ve only played with Canon, Nikon, and Olympus DSLRs, and I’ve found that they’re all good, but if it were my money, I’d buy a Canon.

      • #9 by Joshua on April 22, 2012 - 6:54 PM

        Actually, I’ve heard from actual *pros* – folks that do this for a living – that they use Nikon not for the cameras themselves but for the lenses as they’re far superior to everything on the market. And that Canon L-series lenses are overpriced for what they do. But I’m happy with my Canon camera – good entry-level camera (12MP) at a good price ($499).

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 48 other followers

