My Stupid Insurance Adjuster…Among Other Things

Ok, first things first, on September 30th a water valve popped. Literally, it split in 2. It beats me how, since the thing is rated for 400 PSI and city water is at a pressure of between 40-74 PSI. So, yeah, we finally had an adjuster out here on Monday, and he basically took pictures and declared everything to be ok. Even proving it with a handy dandy moisture probe that he stuck into a rug that was allowed to dry for 3 and a half weeks in a wide open area. At 32% humidity. Of course the damned thing would show that it was dry!

Ok, I’ll accept that maybe the wood dried off enough. So, yesterday we had people from AVR (great guys by the way, and way more professional than the adjuster) and when they lifted the TV off the stand there was still water under it. So they recommended I call the insurance guy back to tell them to replace the stand. He then admitted that he didn’t think the damage was enough to meet the deductible. Now, our house insurance policy has a $1000 deductible, and the getting the water out met over 2/3rds of that. My TV stand costs $1650, my TV cost $2600, my receiver, $1530. I don’t know, I’m pretty sure that I’m going to meet the fucking deductible you idiot. And it’s going to be quite a bit over it when you consider that EVERYTHING in the area got sprayed with gallons and gallons of water, and everything in that area is priced like the above mentioned items. Oh, the best part is that the insurance is replacement cost, so I get everything back minus the deductible.

Anyways, he had me take pictures of the water, the water damage to the TV stand, etc. Now, correct me if I’m wrong, but that’s his fucking job, no? I mean, he’s supposed to check to see if the claim is valid or not. So, he called out AVR and to try to prove that the glitches my gear was experiencing wasn’t related to the water. And I’m sure he’s paying dearly for it since they came out from Madison, packed up everything electronic, and took it back. My house was their only stop. Oh well.

The girl that I was kind of half seeing, about a month ago, maybe a month and a half ago, decided it was the end because I’m ethnically Jewish and non-religious. They’re not very compelling reasons in my book, but hey, each person has their own things that they want, so I can’t fault her.

My cousin got pulled over for having expired plates. But, let me explain the situation from the start. My mom and dad decided that a Cavalier really isn’t a good car for someone that’s just starting to learn how to drive, so they gave her a Blazer. It ended up getting titled in my uncles name, I guess for insurance purposes or something like that. Anyhow, she got pulled over for having expired plates, and as it came out, no insurance on it. And a couple other things. As it turns out, my cousin was paying my uncle for insurance and he just took the money and did other things with it. Be that as it may, it’s  a dick move nonetheless, but it gets better. My cousin went over to ask what the hell he was doing, and push came to shove and he ended up “taking back” the Blazer because she wasn’t responsible enough to have it. Normally, correct me if I’m wrong here, but normally the person that the vehicle is titled to is the one responsible for such things. So now she’s on the hook for $500 in tickets and without a car.

Lastly, and I find this one amazing, I did a quick polling earlier if someone would be too young for me. As it turns out, I did not get a single yes out of the 10 people I asked. She’s pursuing me, and 19. I feel like..I don’t think..there’s something wrong here. I almost feel like and old man hitting on teens or something. It’s kind of an awkward feeling.

  1. #1 by Joshua on October 20, 2011 - 2:09 PM

    As for the burst valve, sounds like the claims adjuster just wanted to not have to pay. Maybe a lawyer could help? As for the girl, I’d say that if it bothers you, then it might be something to discuss. But if it doesn’t bother you, then who’s to say it’s right or wrong?

    • #2 by Phillip on October 20, 2011 - 3:08 PM

      You know, I seriously considered thme not wanting to pay, which I think is why he called for AVR. Me guess is that he thought there wasn’t any water damage. But when AVR told me to call him back to say that the TV stand is shot, it’s kind of backfiring. In any case, I’m waiting for them to send me their report about whether or not the stuff is water damaged. After that I’ll see what I can get from the insurance company without getting a lawyer, and if I think it’s a low ball offer I will be getting a lawyer. Even if it means I’ll end up getting less, it’s the principle of the matter; don’t try to screw me over. As for the other matter, a 7 year difference is slightly bothersome to me. But, a couple years ago a 3 year difference was horrible. I’m kind of waffling between “it’s horrible!” and “7 years isn’t that big a deal”. I’ll get it figured out eventually.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 48 other followers

