Minecraft, Skins, and Awesome

I have fallen to the Minecraft bug. I have to say, it was partly because it’s still half off through out the alpha, but I was also sick of listening to conversations about the game and not being able to play myself. I honestly love this freaking game.

If you aren’t familiar with the game, you must live under a rock. Check it out here. What I’ve been hearing from the boys is, “It’s like Legos!” and it is in a lot of ways. It’s been fun running around building things, and well there’s crafting involves, so I’m in. I’m really looking forward to being able to make some of the nicer things.

The greatest aspect about the game for me is something a little different than carving apart mountain ranges and building cloud castles. You see, you can reskin your characters. This means that if I want to, I can build a cloud castle, and then dress my character up like Rainbow Brite and live out some childhood fantasies.

So I made some skins. I’ve only made the three so far, and I made them mostly because the ones posted on the Minecraft forums are fairly male oriented. I, being an eternally five year old girl, made these for myself.To start with, I made Sailor Mars. She’s always been my favorite Sailor, and I figured she’d be some what easy to pull off.

Bad Ass

Here’s what I ended up with

Minecraft ready Bad Ass

For some reason I was like, I know, I’ll make Strawberry Shortcake! So I did. I think it was the hat that sold me.

1980's Charm

Minecraft Determination!

She even has a strawberry on her hat!

Finally, just because I was on an 80′s cartoon kick,

She did force the sprites to mine...

Now, she mines only for herself!

Now, if you have skins, I want to see them.

 

  1. #1 by Chadwick on October 22, 2010 - 11:15 AM

    Well, since I’m far less creative, I just made me.

    Me-Craft

    • #2 by Chadwick on November 17, 2010 - 5:46 PM

      And today, Phil:

      Phil-Craft

      Download

      He gets a giant banana on his shirt because I tried to think of Phil’s t-shirts, but I couldn’t get any to fit in about an 8×8 pixel patch, and this just occurred to me because of one of his monkey shirts. I think it worked.

      • #3 by Phillip on November 17, 2010 - 10:11 PM

        So how exactly would I use this?

        • #4 by Chadwick on November 17, 2010 - 10:39 PM

          First, hit the download link under the picture to grab a tiny PNG of your guy unwrapped. Then, head to Minecraft.net, and go to Preferences (you’ll need to log in, obviously). You should be able to figure it out from there.

          • #5 by Phillip on November 17, 2010 - 11:52 PM

            Maybe I’m missing something here, but it’s not letting me upload it. I’ll give it a shot tomorrow and see what happens.

    • #6 by Chadwick on November 17, 2010 - 5:53 PM

      Oh, and I almost forgot Joshy:

      Josh-Craft

      Download

      Again, I tried to think of Josh’s shirts, but the 8×8 square is really quite restricting for logos of any sort. So I created a new one: Coffee mug w/heart. It seemed appropriate to me.

      • #7 by Chadwick on November 17, 2010 - 5:54 PM

        Oh, and he’s beardy.

      • #8 by Joshua on November 17, 2010 - 5:57 PM

        LOl that’s much better than the one I came up with. And I love the heart mug.

      • #9 by Christa on November 17, 2010 - 6:22 PM

        These are pretty awesome. I do think Phil would wear that shirt.

        • #10 by Phillip on November 17, 2010 - 10:11 PM

          I’d like to think I would wear that.

      • #11 by Joshua on November 18, 2010 - 7:31 PM

        Although this looks a bit like Barrett from FFVII now that I look again. Though I’m not at all opposed to looking like a huge black dude with an assault cannon for a hand.

  2. #12 by Chadwick on October 22, 2010 - 1:10 PM

    Though this did inspire me a bit to create some Wolfenstein guards.


    Download


    Download


    Download

    • #13 by Chadwick on October 22, 2010 - 1:16 PM

      That last one’s screenshot is actually pretty sweet. A real sieg heil moment. And he looks mean.

  3. #14 by Matt on October 22, 2010 - 4:03 PM

    Zieg Heil baby!

  4. #15 by Joshua on October 31, 2010 - 7:08 PM

    Rainbow Brite always looked like a deranged troll doll to me. I dunno why. Maybe it’s the hair.

  5. #16 by Joshua on October 31, 2010 - 7:10 PM

    And you do realize that, assuming that’s not a weird-ass angle, Sailor Mars’ head is smaller in diameter than her thighs. Either her legs are huge or her head is tiny.

  6. #17 by Joshua on November 18, 2010 - 7:50 PM

    I failed my Knowledge: WordPress Blogging Software check. How do I upload pics into comments like above?

    • #18 by Chadwick on November 18, 2010 - 11:39 PM

      I’ve been manually uploading them behind the scenes, then using HTML in-comment, with lines like [img src="http://tehtable.files.wordpress.com/2010/11/joshua.png" alt="Josh-Craft" width="240" height="240" /]. It doesn’t seem to fly without at least the alt tag for some reason, so…good luck.

      • #19 by Joshua on November 19, 2010 - 6:59 AM

        ‘kay. Thanks. I’ll try it tonight. The new machine is semi-racked. I still need to lock it down and connect the cables but I’ll wait until tonight or tomorrow when I can also rack dustpuppy.

  7. #20 by Shaolyn Rose on December 9, 2010 - 3:15 AM

    I’m only commenting because of the Rainbow Brite. No one my age or younger remembers who she is or knows of her. I think it’s awesome that you made one!!!! How old are you? lol. I think it’s the eyes that makes her look mean.. btw.

    • #21 by Christa on December 9, 2010 - 3:48 PM

      I just turned 26. I really couldn’t think of a better way to do the eyes. I’ve also put together a Stormy now. I don’t think it’s quite as nice, but I tried. Also, I have big plans for a Rainbow Brite island castle.

      In case you would like,

      Download


      Download

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 48 other followers

