re: religion poll me

Nope josh i’m not an open theist.

I just looked up open theism and it starts by talking about a personal God one that answers prayers, wrong, i don’t believe that.

I’m not really an anything anymore, so we’ll explain were i am and how i got there.

My father started life as a catholic and likely died an aethist, not posititive.  My Mom started life as a luthern and wouldn’t go back to that church if commanded by God himself, not entirely sure what she’d classify as now.

I went to Catholic grade school from 2nd grad until 8 th grade then continued on with a catholic high school, the primary difference between a religous and non religous school was that “religion” was a class for me most of my school career, we learned out the bible about God about other religions etc.  I was raised as a post vatican II Catholic.

This means that we do not take the Bible word for word literally.  The mass is in English because of the same reason i was taught that it was originally in latin, cause the people understood what the fuck was going on.  It is for the people to know the owrd of God and to udnerstand it.

Anyway aty some point i became disillusioned with the whole church thing, likely sometime around the time i discovered masterbation, and made peace with it, thats a pretty bad sin for a catholic you know.  Spenty alot of teenage years just figuring i was going to hell.

So now at this poitn in my life, all teh priests i had as a younger self are either dead or retired, thus i have no conecction to any church at the moment, i never liked giong to church but have less insentive to go.  I don’t believe in the bible word for word, I believe as i was taught that it is supposed to teach you about God and about how to live, thats about it.

If you want a word for me, open theism doens’t really apply at all, this is closer, but i reject being classified into a religious group.

‘Deism is a religious and philosophical belief that a supreme being created the universe, and that this (and religious truth in general) can be determined using reason and observation of the natural world alone, without a need for either faith or organized religion. Deists generally reject the notion of divine interventions in human affairs – such as by miracles and revelations, but not necessarily. These views contrast with a dependence on revelations, miracles, and faith found in many Judeo-Christian, Islamic and other theistic teachings.

Deists typically reject most supernatural events (prophecy, miracles) and tend to assert that God (or “The Supreme Architect“) has a plan for the universe that is not altered either by God intervening in the affairs of human life or by suspending the natural laws of the universe. What organized religions see as divine revelation and holy books, most deists see as interpretations made by other humans, rather than as authoritative sources.”

Now this isn’t true of me either but like i said its closer, i don’t believe that God interferes with the lives of man.  I personally don’t have much in the way of faith, I KNOW that there is a God, and thats all i need, faith implies doubt, i don’t have that.

So as far as i’m concerned i am not a member of any religous group, i tend to think of it as a more personal thing, and when you bring other people in you muck it up.  I do not think i’m ever going to join up with any spiritual groups or organizations in the future, i’ve tried that and community based worship doens’t work for me.  Hell organized religion doens’t work for me.  I’m happy the way i am spirtiually, trust me its one of the few parts of my life that aren’t in flux.

There is one God, he created heaven and earth, when i die if i’ve been a good person then i go to heaven and get an eternal reward of some sort, not sure what, i’m figuring its kinda like a vacation for all time, sitting around hanging out goofing off, and generally enjoying the afterlife.   good enough.

  1. #1 by Joshua on July 31, 2009 - 7:09 PM

    Okay. Sorry I mispigeonholed you 🙂 You are correct – I used the term “Open Theist” quite inocorrectly.

  1. Re: Religion Poll « Around Teh Table

Leave a comment